Pro 2: Can't Figure Out Simple Program Change RX

The Dave Smith Instruments Pro 2 Analogue Synthesizer

Moderator: Pym

Post Reply
blewis
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:11 pm

Pro 2: Can't Figure Out Simple Program Change RX

Post by blewis » Sun Sep 06, 2015 2:02 pm

I don't get it.

I'm trying to configure my MIDI footswitch to do something extraordinarily simple - send a Program Change to the Pro 2.

I have my MIDI monitor setup and I send when I tweak the knobs on the Pro 2, I send the following MIDI messages sent - Pr0 2 is on MIDI channel 2.

09:51:26.220 From Port 2 Control 2 Bank Select (fine) 0
09:51:26.221 From Port 2 Program 2 6

This is User Bank 1, Patch 7

Now I program my footswitch to send Program Change and also to send Bank Select send (which I believe sends the LSB - there's a setting for sending MSB, but I haven't selected that since MIDI Monitor is not reporting that the Pro 2 sends MSB when I just hit the Patch Change knob)

So my MIDI controller sends this in the MIDI Monitor:

10:00:13.578 From Port 4 Control 2 Bank Select 0
10:00:13.579 From Port 4 Program 2 6


Why does this not work?

Global settings of interest:
MIDI Param Send : OFF
MIDI Control Receive: CC
MIDI Control Enable: On
MIDI Program Send: On
Local Control: On

blewis
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:11 pm

Re: Pro 2: Can't Figure Out Simple Program Change RX

Post by blewis » Sun Sep 06, 2015 2:16 pm

Sending Bank Select MSB also does not work:

10:15:22.777 From Port 4 Control 2 Bank Select 0
10:15:22.779 From Port 4 Control 2 Bank Select (fine) 0
10:15:22.779 From Port 4 Program 2 4


Totally baffling.

blewis
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:11 pm

Re: Pro 2: Can't Figure Out Simple Program Change RX

Post by blewis » Mon Sep 07, 2015 7:29 pm

Error was a classic ID-10-T error (read idiot).

My MIDI bridge/router was set to split connectors and must've been filtering the Program Change. Now that it's set to broadcast all inputs to all outputs, things appear to be working.

Post Reply