Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

The Dave Smith Instruments Pro 2 Analogue Synthesizer

Moderator: Pym

Post Reply
User avatar
Trevor Refix
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:27 am
Contact:

Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by Trevor Refix » Wed Aug 26, 2015 2:31 am

Hey guys

I've posted in the OS thread about the Pro 2 having hung notes with the 2 newest beta's (1.1.14 and 1.1.15) when connected to an Elektron Octatrack. I see that 2 other users posted about the same problem with the Octatrack as well as another user that had hung notes with an external sequencer but didn't list the external sequencer name.

So far I'm the only Octatrack owner to officially file a support ticket about this bug and after many emails back and forth with DSI their official answer is that they "cannot say that there is a bug present or whether there is some other interaction within your setup which is causing the behavior you are seeing." They don't have an Octatrack to test on and neither of us can replicate the bug in Ableton or on a Tempest (actually I can get a hung note eventually with the Tempest sequencing the Pro 2 on the new beta but we're still seeing if they can replicate that one...)

Since my OT / Pro 2 set up has been working (and continues to work) 100% problem free on 1.1.0 and instantly gets hung notes with the new beta (even after a global reset on both machines and nothing else connected in the chain), there's no doubt in my mind that it's something in the new OS that funky in a bad way when connected to an OT. I can live without using a new beta but if this becomes the official release as Pym mentioned was likely, well that would really suck for us Octatrack users.

If you are an OT user experiencing hung notes (or other issues), would you please file a ticket with support? http://www.davesmithinstruments.com/sup ... t-support/ Posting on this forum doesn't count as officially registering a bug.

Thank you!
https://soundcloud.com/textureandlight [electronic dream rock band]
https://soundcloud.com/trevorrefixmervyn [hardware based solo adventures]

User avatar
BobTheDog
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by BobTheDog » Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:34 am

Hi Trevor,

Sorry I forgot to do a test!

It is on my todo list for today....

Andy

User avatar
Trevor Refix
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:27 am
Contact:

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by Trevor Refix » Wed Aug 26, 2015 2:05 pm

BobTheDog wrote:Hi Trevor,

Sorry I forgot to do a test!

It is on my todo list for today....

Andy
Thanks Andy. FYI I use the Pro 2 as the master controller through the OT as shown in the OT manual on page 128.
https://soundcloud.com/textureandlight [electronic dream rock band]
https://soundcloud.com/trevorrefixmervyn [hardware based solo adventures]

User avatar
BobTheDog
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by BobTheDog » Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:54 pm

I did a basic test with the OT sequencing the PRO 2 and did not get any problems. I am routing the Midi via a computer though, so no direct connection between the PRO2 and the OT.

I will look at page 128 and try to set it up the same after dinner.

User avatar
BobTheDog
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by BobTheDog » Wed Aug 26, 2015 4:26 pm

Ok had a quick look at the manual as I was peeling the pototoes.

This seems to be basically how I have it set up.

Can you give me some steps of how to reproduce the issue?

Benzebub
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 5:04 pm

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by Benzebub » Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:35 pm

Ok, wild shot in the dark here but does anyone know if the Octatrack uses Running Status for MIDI and if the Pro 2 has stopped supporting it properly?

User avatar
Trevor Refix
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:27 am
Contact:

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by Trevor Refix » Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:46 pm

BobTheDog wrote:Ok had a quick look at the manual as I was peeling the pototoes.

This seems to be basically how I have it set up.

Can you give me some steps of how to reproduce the issue?
Thanks so much for taking the time Andy. I'll post my detailed pro 2 / OT settings when I get home from work tonight. I can't replicate the bug through the computer though, only a straight midi connection.
https://soundcloud.com/textureandlight [electronic dream rock band]
https://soundcloud.com/trevorrefixmervyn [hardware based solo adventures]

User avatar
Trevor Refix
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:27 am
Contact:

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by Trevor Refix » Thu Aug 27, 2015 2:44 am

Here's my set up:

Pro 2 (Pro 2 Midi out to OT midi in)

OS 1.1.15
Reset globals
Midi channel: 1
Midi Clock Mode : Slave
Basic Patch
Local Control off

Octatrack (OT midi out to Pro 2 midi in)

OS 1.25E (also tried with 1.25D last week)
Midi Sync Settings:
Send Transport
Send Clock
Send Program Change

Midi Channel Settings:
Auto Channel: 1
Trig Channels off

Add a few trigs to the sequencer and the first trig for me sticks almost every time but sometimes it makes it to trig 2 or 3 and then sticks for a while, gets unstuck for a note, then sticks again. Playing the pro 2 keyboard under these settings (with the OT sequencer not running) results in a stuck note within about 20 seconds. Switching back to 1.1.0 works like a charm.

Here's the picture from the OT manual of my set up. For this trouble shooting session I did not have any other modules connected via the OT thru but with 1.1.0 I usually have at least 4 machines downstream and the Pro 2 set up as the control hub with absolutely zero issues in the studio or while gigging for the last 6 months.

Thanks so much for your time!

Image
https://soundcloud.com/textureandlight [electronic dream rock band]
https://soundcloud.com/trevorrefixmervyn [hardware based solo adventures]

User avatar
BobTheDog
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by BobTheDog » Thu Aug 27, 2015 9:55 am

I had the clock settings different, I will set up the clock and try for you latter today.....

User avatar
BobTheDog
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by BobTheDog » Thu Aug 27, 2015 10:28 am

Ok, I just set it up as you have it and am getting no problems.

I am using a computer in the way though with midi over USB to the PRO2.

I will grab some midi cables and fumble about in the rack to try to connect it up that way and see what happens.....

User avatar
BobTheDog
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by BobTheDog » Thu Aug 27, 2015 10:40 am

Ok connected via midi cables it doesn't work well at all, very erratic to say the least!

Now if you turn sending clock off on the OT it all works perfectly.

So it seems to be an issue with the P2 receiving clock from the OT via the midi port, I am guessing it is swamping it in some way. Clock settings on the P2 have no impact on this.

I have put in a support request as well.

User avatar
Trevor Refix
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:27 am
Contact:

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by Trevor Refix » Thu Aug 27, 2015 3:02 pm

BobTheDog wrote:Ok connected via midi cables it doesn't work well at all, very erratic to say the least!

Now if you turn sending clock off on the OT it all works perfectly.

So it seems to be an issue with the P2 receiving clock from the OT via the midi port, I am guessing it is swamping it in some way. Clock settings on the P2 have no impact on this.

I have put in a support request as well.
Thanks man! It's really good to know that I'm not crazy :)
https://soundcloud.com/textureandlight [electronic dream rock band]
https://soundcloud.com/trevorrefixmervyn [hardware based solo adventures]

User avatar
BobTheDog
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by BobTheDog » Thu Aug 27, 2015 8:27 pm

Got an email back from Carson, they have found the issue and it should be fixed before release.

User avatar
Trevor Refix
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:27 am
Contact:

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by Trevor Refix » Thu Aug 27, 2015 11:29 pm

Me too. Officially on the bug list. Now back to making music :)
https://soundcloud.com/textureandlight [electronic dream rock band]
https://soundcloud.com/trevorrefixmervyn [hardware based solo adventures]

punchcard
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 12:21 pm

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by punchcard » Fri Aug 28, 2015 11:58 am

BobTheDog wrote:So it seems to be an issue with the P2 receiving clock from the OT via the midi port, I am guessing it is swamping it in some way. Clock settings on the P2 have no impact on this.
Ah, good to hear it's not just me failing :) hope they fix it soon

ktbnsoe
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 9:28 pm

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by ktbnsoe » Sat Dec 12, 2015 9:31 pm

I've also found this bug today. Do you know if it is already fixed in the newest version ? Which version is the newest ?

User avatar
BobTheDog
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by BobTheDog » Sun Dec 13, 2015 6:35 am

I thought the problem was only with the beta version of the P2 OS, what version do you have loaded?

ktbnsoe
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 9:28 pm

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by ktbnsoe » Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:48 pm

I have version 1.1.15.

User avatar
BobTheDog
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Attn: Octatrack / Pro 2 users (re: 1.1.14 + 15)

Post by BobTheDog » Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:13 pm

That's the beta version, try the release version 1.1.0 from the main DSI site. I think that should fix your problem.

Post Reply