Working with Daw, how to sync p12's lfo and daw's tempo?

The Dave Smith Instruments Prophet-12 Analogue Synthesizer

Moderator: Pym

Post Reply
shimoyjk
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 9:16 pm

Working with Daw, how to sync p12's lfo and daw's tempo?

Post by shimoyjk » Thu Oct 29, 2015 7:36 pm

Hello!

I have a issue(with myself) that is when I working with daw(Logic pro x, 10.2).

so here are steps that what I did.

1. Record midi notes via External channel (Ch.1)

2. Record audio(Ch2)

simple, ha, but every time when I try to match P12's LFO temp to Daw's tempo it's extremely hard.

the notes recorded well, as expected but only problem I have is lofts synced tempo and daw's tempo.

It's not like they're playing different tempo, but when Daw's beat going like 1 2 3 4
Lfo's beat going like 1 2 3 4

how can I sync those two?


let me know :)

thanks!

HermesRuns
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 6:26 pm

Re: Working with Daw, how to sync p12's lfo and daw's tempo?

Post by HermesRuns » Sun Nov 29, 2015 6:43 pm

You can choose Midi Clock in the Global Menues. Make sure "Slave" is enabled, then the prophet 12 will adjust to your DAW's tempo.

shimoyjk
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 9:16 pm

Re: Working with Daw, how to sync p12's lfo and daw's tempo?

Post by shimoyjk » Mon Dec 07, 2015 10:37 pm

Thank you so much!
But I couldn't figure it out yet since the tempo from daw

and P12 never matched... It is weird but i will try to figure it out and post it again.

Thanks!

Q

shimoyjk
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 9:16 pm

Re: Working with Daw, how to sync p12's lfo and daw's tempo?

Post by shimoyjk » Thu Dec 17, 2015 6:14 pm

i've been trying to match p12's tempo(slave) and daw(master)'s tempo.

I set the midi clock mode to slave, but still it's not perfectly synced. bit out.

when I set to 16th, it sound like triplet and so on..

anybody has same issue?

working with logic pro x 10.2

Q.

Thanks!

User avatar
BobTheDog
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Working with Daw, how to sync p12's lfo and daw's tempo?

Post by BobTheDog » Thu Dec 17, 2015 6:57 pm

Does the BPM readout on the P12 match the host BPM?

shimoyjk
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 9:16 pm

Re: Working with Daw, how to sync p12's lfo and daw's tempo?

Post by shimoyjk » Fri Dec 18, 2015 6:04 pm

I don't see any bpm on prophet.

I plugged usb to p12, and was trying to record pad that has lfo and wanted to sync with daw's tempo.

am I doing something wrong?

shimoyjk
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 9:16 pm

Re: Working with Daw, how to sync p12's lfo and daw's tempo?

Post by shimoyjk » Sat Dec 19, 2015 3:52 am

it says no CLk, i guess it's no clock.

should I do something else to sync?

I plugged usb and set global menu -> midi clock slave. also midi clock cable set to usb as well.

I'm new to midi, so I'm not so sure what I can do here. Should I do something in DAW as well?

User avatar
BobTheDog
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Working with Daw, how to sync p12's lfo and daw's tempo?

Post by BobTheDog » Sat Dec 19, 2015 7:02 am

If it says No Clock then it is Logic not sending the clock to the P12.

In logic, use menu: File->Project Settings->Synchronisation

Then click the Midi tab, then set the transmit to to the P12.

Once this is set and you press play in logic clock will be transmitted to the P12 and you will see the correct BPM figure displayed on it and the tap temp button will be flashing in time with the BPM. When the project is stopped logic does not send clock.

shimoyjk
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 9:16 pm

Re: Working with Daw, how to sync p12's lfo and daw's tempo?

Post by shimoyjk » Wed Dec 30, 2015 5:09 am

just checked, and it works great!

Thanks Bob! much appreciate it!

p.s working on some sound for simple pop album, trying to use p12 for the recording session on january! will upload something if it going well :p

Post Reply